Sat, 28 03 1439 | 16 Dec 2017

Statistical awareness.. to be connected

Awareness is the first step in the process of decision and policy making that focuses on humans. Awareness is a logical sign that proves that capabilities of human minds. If you can be connected with everything around you constantly and directly, that means you already started the most important step of awareness which is “ knowledge”. When we talk about statistical awareness, we talk about a status of recognition and perception of the importance of statistics and its sciences in our life, therefore, we can recognize all data, information, and indicators issued by statistical entities, understand those who produce these data and information, and comprehend the way of their uses and publishing. This understanding is linked with recognition without which knowledge cannot be achieved. How could we recognize things without knowing them, therefore, we can define statistical awareness as a positive behavior that depends on recognition and knowledge of the importance of statistics. 
when talking about statistical awareness as a connecting activity, we find that many definitions and practices make the individual the core of this kind of awareness. However, if we want to elaborate that meaning, we add society to individual. The reason why an individual is our concern here is that the individual recognition of the importance of statistical information contributes in the interaction with statistical work and cooperation with statistical organizations by providing them with accurate data. This is a goal that everyone seeks but I can say that this kind of awareness is a “ directed awareness” that takes into account one side only which is statistical organizations and field researchers so that they can collect data easily. On the other hand, the statistical awareness that we want to raise is an integrated process that considers all concerned parties. Statistical awareness begins with data producers but all individuals, households, schools, universities, society, media, and data users contribute in, then it goes back to data producers. In this way, this integrated interaction will result in a positive behavior towards the process of data production, use, and publishing. 
If we want to make statistics a life style and a daily culture, we should raise statistical awareness. However, if we want to reach statistical awareness, we should activate statistical knowledge. Whereas if we want to raise knowledge, we should stay connected. 

By: Taiseer Almofarrij 
Director general of media and statistical awareness department- spokesperson.  

   

 

Statistical Survey: 
30755

الثلاثاء, 30 11 1438 | 22 أغسطس 2017

الوعي الإحصائي .. لنبقَ على اتصال

يُشكِّل الوعي الحروف الأولى لمعجم السياسات والقرارات في أي مجال مادام الإنسان محورها، فالوعي هو الدلالة المنطقية بأنَّ العقل يمارس مهامه بحيوية واقتدار، فحين نكون على اتصال دائم ومباشر بكل ما حولنا فإننا قد بدأنا في الخطوة الأهم نحو الوعي به  وهي " المعرفة " وحين نتحدث عن الوعي الإحصائي فإنَّنا نتحدث عن حالة من الإدراك والشعور بأهمية الإحصاء وعلومه  في مفاصل الحياة وما يترتب على هذا الإدراك من سلوك تجاه البينات والمعلومات والمؤشرات التي تصدرها الأجهزة الإحصائية المختصة ، وتجاه من يعمل على إنتاجها ، وتجاه طريقة استخدامها أو نشرها والتعامل معها ، و هذا السلوك المنشود مُرتبط بالإدراك الذي  لا يتحقق دون معرفة ، فكيف لنا ندرك حقيقة الأشياء إنْ لم نتعرف عليها ، لذلك يمكن أن نًعرَّف الوعي الإحصائي بأنَّه السلوك الإيجابي المبني على الإدراك والمعرفة بأهمية الإحصاء . 
وفي ا لوعي الإحصائي كنشاط اتصالي نجد أنَّ كثير من التعريفات والممارسات تجعل محور الوعي هو الفرد وإنْ وسَعتْ الدائرة وضعت معه المجتمع ، ومُبرر هذه الممارسات هو أنَّ إدراك الفرد وشعوره بأهمية المعلومات الإحصائية يساهم في التفاعل مع العمل الإحصائي والتعاون مع الجهاز الإحصائي وتزويده بالبيانات الدقيقة ، وهو بلا شك هدف الكل يسعى له ولكني أرى بأنَّ هذا النوع من الوعي هو " وعيٌ موجَّه "  يراعي مصلحة طرف واحد فقط وهو الجهاز الإحصائي والباحثين الميدانيين ليسهل عليهم عملية جمع البيانات ، بينما الوعي الإحصائي الذي ننشده ونعمل على نشره هو عملية متكاملة تنطلق من مبدأ المصلحة المشتركة  win) / win ) فالوعي الإحصائي يبدأ من منتجي البيانات ويساهم فيه الفرد والأسرة والمدرسة والجامعة والمجتمع والإعلام و مستخدمي البيانات ليعود مرّة أخرى للمُنِتج ، وبالتالي سيحقق هذا التفاعل المتكامل سلوك إيجابي تجاه عملية إنتاج البيانات واستخدامها ونشرها والتعامل معها . 
وإذا ما أردنا أن نصل بالإحصاء إلى أسلوب حياة وثقافة يومية فإنَّ الوعي الإحصائي هو الطريق لذلك الهدف، وإذا ما أردنا أن نصل للوعي الإحصائي فإنَّ المعرفة الإحصائية هي المسار ، وإذا ما أردنا أن ننشر المعرفة ؛ فعلينا أنْ نبقى على اتصال .. 

 
بقلم: أ. تيسير المفرج 
مدير عام الإدارة العامة للإعلام والوعي الإحصائي – المتحدث الرسمي 

المسح الإحصائي: 
30092